Home / Electrician / Rhode Island
Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training · checked 2026-10-20
Rhode Island Electrician License Requirements
Statewide certificates under R.I. Gen. Laws chapter 5-6: Certificate A lets a firm conduct business as an electrical contractor; Certificate B is the journeyperson license for the person doing the work. Electrical Contractor (Certificate A): the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.
- 1B · Journeyperson Electrician (Certificate B) time not stated
- 2A · Electrical Contractor (Certificate A) time not stated
License levels in Rhode Island
The Rhode Island path has 2 steps on this page: Journeyperson Electrician (Certificate B) and Electrical Contractor (Certificate A).
| Level | Experience | Classroom | Time from start | Exam | Fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| B Journeyperson Electrician (Certificate B) | none stated | — | time not stated | Yes | License $72 |
| A Electrical Contractor (Certificate A) | none stated | — | time not stated | Yes | License $240 |
Journeyperson Electrician (Certificate B) (B)
Pass an examination before the Division of Professional Regulation (§ 5-6-9). Apprentices must first complete an applicable registered apprenticeship program in Rhode Island, shown by transcripts and work record books (§ 5-6-24.2). The statute sections read state no hour count. Source: R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-6-9 and § 5-6-24.2.
Electrical Contractor (Certificate A) (A)
Issued to a person or firm whose named member or officer passes the contractor examination. The certificate entitles the holder to conduct business as an electrical contractor, not to do the work personally. § 5-6-8(a). Source: R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-6-8.
Rhode Island also issues narrower classes on the same page: C limited premises ($240), D limited maintenance ($240), E/F burner contractor and burnerperson ($240/$72), AF/BF fire alarm ($240/$72), LPC/LPI lightning protection ($240/$72) and SCF/CF electrical signs.
Exam
2 of the 2 levels listed here require an exam: Journeyperson Electrician (Certificate B) and Electrical Contractor (Certificate A). The source does not print a pass mark.
Fees
- Journeyperson Electrician (Certificate B): license $72.
- Electrical Contractor (Certificate A): license $240.
Fees are from § 5-6-16 and are paid on a biennial renewal cycle. Fee source: R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-6-16.
Reciprocity
The Rhode Island sources read for this trade name no reciprocity agreement and no route for out-of-state licensees.
How Rhode Island compares
Rhode Island's source gives not stated for the electrical contractor (certificate a) on top of the earlier level, but no time for the earlier level itself, so the full path cannot be ranked against other states.
Same trade elsewhere: Connecticut · Massachusetts · New Hampshire · Maine · Vermont. All states side by side: Electrician license requirements by state.
Other trades in Rhode Island
- Plumber: Master Plumber: 5 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.
- General contractor: Rhode Island uses a contractor registration for general contractors, not a skills license.
All covered trades on one page: Rhode Island trade licenses.
Background reading: From apprentice to master: how long each state takes · What the license fees add up to.
Questions
Who issues the electrician license in Rhode Island?
Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation (Board of Examiners of Electricians). Statewide certificates under R.I. Gen. Laws chapter 5-6: Certificate A lets a firm conduct business as an electrical contractor; Certificate B is the journeyperson license for the person doing the work.
How long does it take to qualify for the Electrical Contractor (Certificate A) in Rhode Island?
The source read (R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-6-8) states no minimum time for the Electrical Contractor (Certificate A). Issued to a person or firm whose named member or officer passes the contractor examination. The certificate entitles the holder to conduct business as an electrical contractor, not to do the work personally. § 5-6-8(a).
Does Rhode Island have electrician license reciprocity?
The Rhode Island sources read name no reciprocity agreement for this trade.
What are the Rhode Island electrician license fees?
Journeyperson Electrician (Certificate B): license $72. Electrical Contractor (Certificate A): license $240.
Sources and last checked
| What | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Issuing authority | Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation (Board of Examiners of Electricians) | 2026-10-20 |
| B requirements | R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-6-9 and § 5-6-24.2 | 2026-10-20 |
| A requirements | R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-6-8 | 2026-10-20 |
| Law cited | R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 5-6-8, 5-6-9, 5-6-16, 5-6-24.2 | 2026-10-20 |
This page summarises what the Rhode Island source said on 2026-10-20. It is general information, not legal advice; the board's own page and the statute are the authority and can change. Confirm with Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training before applying. The free official route is the board itself: its page, application forms and staff answer eligibility questions.