Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection · checked 2026-10-20
Connecticut HVAC License Requirements
Statewide heating, piping and cooling license. S-1 contractors may do all heating, piping and cooling work as defined in Conn. Gen. Stat. § 20-330; narrower D, B, G and S classes cover warm air and refrigeration, burners, gas, and smaller buildings. Unlimited Heating, Piping and Cooling Contractor: 2 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.
- 1S-2 · Unlimited Heating, Piping and Cooling Journeyperson time not stated
- 2S-1 · Unlimited Heating, Piping and Cooling Contractor 2 years after the prior level
License levels in Connecticut
The Connecticut path has 2 steps on this page: Unlimited Heating, Piping and Cooling Journeyperson and Unlimited Heating, Piping and Cooling Contractor. The source states the time in years.
| Level | Experience | Classroom | Time from start | Exam | Fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| S-2 Unlimited Heating, Piping and Cooling Journeyperson | none stated | — | time not stated | Yes | Not printed |
| S-1 Unlimited Heating, Piping and Cooling Contractor | 2 years at the prior level | — | 2 years after the prior level | Yes | Not printed |
Unlimited Heating, Piping and Cooling Journeyperson (S-2)
Completion of a registered apprenticeship program or equivalent experience and training. No hour count is printed for the S-2. Source: CT DCP, Heating, Piping and Cooling License Types and Scope of Work.
Unlimited Heating, Piping and Cooling Contractor (S-1)
Two years as a properly licensed journeyperson, or equivalent experience and training. Source: CT DCP, Heating, Piping and Cooling License Types and Scope of Work.
Connecticut also issues narrower classes on the same page: D-1/D-2 warm air, air conditioning and refrigeration, D-3/D-4 cooling, B-1/B-2 gas and oil burners up to 500,000 BTU, B-3/B-4 gas and oil burners of any size, G-1/G-2 gas piping and appliances, S-3/S-4 heating, cooling and piping without refrigeration, S-7/S-8 heating in buildings of three stories or fewer, S-9/S-10 heating plus cooling to 35 tons and OE-2 operating engineer.
Exam
2 of the 2 levels listed here require an exam: Unlimited Heating, Piping and Cooling Journeyperson and Unlimited Heating, Piping and Cooling Contractor. The source does not print a pass mark.
Fees
The Connecticut source read prints no dollar amounts for this license. The DCP page prints no fee amounts.
Reciprocity
The DCP heating, piping and cooling page lists no reciprocity agreements.
How Connecticut compares
Connecticut's source gives 2 years for the unlimited heating, piping and cooling contractor on top of the earlier level, but no time for the earlier level itself, so the full path cannot be ranked against other states.
Same trade elsewhere: Massachusetts · New Hampshire · California · Texas · Florida. All states side by side: HVAC license requirements by state.
Other trades in Connecticut
- Electrician: Unlimited Electrical Contractor: 6 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.
- Plumber: Unlimited Plumbing Contractor: 2 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.
- General contractor: Connecticut uses a home improvement contractor registration for general contractors, not a skills license.
All covered trades on one page: Connecticut trade licenses.
Background reading: From apprentice to master: how long each state takes · How trade license exams work.
Questions
Who issues the hvac license in Connecticut?
Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection, Occupational and Professional Licensing Division. Statewide heating, piping and cooling license. S-1 contractors may do all heating, piping and cooling work as defined in Conn. Gen. Stat. § 20-330; narrower D, B, G and S classes cover warm air and refrigeration, burners, gas, and smaller buildings.
How long does it take to qualify for the Unlimited Heating, Piping and Cooling Contractor in Connecticut?
2 years by this site's count, plus however long the earlier level takes. Two years as a properly licensed journeyperson, or equivalent experience and training.
Does Connecticut have hvac license reciprocity?
The DCP heating, piping and cooling page lists no reciprocity agreements.
Sources and last checked
| What | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Issuing authority | Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection, Occupational and Professional Licensing Division | 2026-10-20 |
| S-2 requirements | CT DCP, Heating, Piping and Cooling License Types and Scope of Work | 2026-10-20 |
| S-1 requirements | CT DCP, Heating, Piping and Cooling License Types and Scope of Work | 2026-10-20 |
| Law cited | Conn. Gen. Stat. § 20-330 (scope of heating, piping and cooling work) | 2026-10-20 |
This page summarises what the Connecticut source said on 2026-10-20. It is general information, not legal advice; the board's own page and the statute are the authority and can change. Confirm with Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection before applying. The free official route is the board itself: its page, application forms and staff answer eligibility questions.